Save Burma

ျပည္သူေတြဆီမွာ လြတ္လပ္မႈနဲ႔ တန္းတူညီမွ်မႈ အရင္ဆံုး ရွိေနမွ ဒီမိုိကေရစီ စံႏႈန္းရွိတာ ျဖစ္ပါတယ္။

NLD’s Women Groups spread in 22 townships

leave a comment »

NLD’s Women Groups spread in 22 townships

As the National League for Democracy (NLD) has extended to organize township women groups, there have been so far 22 groups within seven months, it is reported.

The NLD’s Women Affairs Taskforce (HQ) has supervised to organize township women groups in the divisions of Rangoon, Mandalay and Tenasserim since last June.

“Our main job is to organize. As groups of youth and women are parts of the NLD, they are supportive to implement Party’s plans by means of organizing,” said Dr May Win Myint who is in charge of NLD’s Women Affairs Taskforce in Rangoon Division.

Completed are 12 women groups in Rangoon Division including the townships of Kawmu, Mayangone, Hlaing, Syrim, Insein, Hlaingtharyar, Yankin, Bahan, Kayan, Tharkata and New Dagon, 8 women groups in Tenassarim Division and 2 women groups in Mandalay Division.

Dr May Win Myint said, “We have done both organizing and forming at the same time. In Rangoon, there have already been 12 township women groups. We have meetings once a month. We discuss what the township groups have submitted. We explain to them the policy the NLD’s Central Executive Committee has drawn. In the headquarter we sell things for fundraising. We offer alms to Buddhist monks every Tuesday for freedom of prisoners.”

Ma Aye Aye Mar, member of Women Affaris Taskforce in Mandalay Division of the NLD, said, “According to the instructions from the Central Executive Committee, there remains two to be organized in North-West and North-East townships in Mandalay Division. Those from Meikhtilar and Wandwin have informed us to organize township women groups. We’ve been waiting for the nod from the township chairman.”

Mandalay’s South-East and South-West township women groups were formed on the 5th and 15th of last month respectively.

To form NLD’s Women Affairs Taskforce in States and Divisions, apart from eleven supportive members in Rangoon, 2 each in Mandalay and Sagain and 1 each in Kachin, Arakan, Pegu, Karen, Shan, Magwe and Tenesarim have already been selected and assigned.

Similarly, members of NLD’s Youth Affairs have been organizing in some areas of Upper Burma and Daw Aung San Suu Kyi is in charge of Women Affair Committee and Youth affair task force of the NLD (HQ), it is known.

NLD’s Women Affairs Taskforce is under the Committee of Women Affairs.


Received this news in Burmese from Mizzima

Written by Lwin Aung Soe

January 20, 2010 at 7:04 am

Posted in Varieties in English

Tagged with ,

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: